ThanksThanksThanks

My mother taught me to always write thank you notes. So here we go: daily thanks for the big & small things in life.

A Thanksgiving Thanks. November 25, 2010

Filed under: Food & Drink,Holidays — Courtney @ 9:31 pm
Tags: ,

Ah, Thanksgiving.  This day is like my blog’s golden, shining star holiday!  The day on which we all stop to give thanks (….and eat and eat and eat and eat!).  How beautiful a day this is, indeed.

After our dinner (which was both delightful and highly entertaining), I snuggled down on the couch in this house that holds my youth and adolescent memories in its heart – the only real home that I have ever known.  And as as the tryptophan (and okay, the champagne) started to soothe me into a blissful nap, I began to wonder:  what will be my Thanksgiving thanks?

There’s a million things that come to mind: my amazingly supportive family, my hilariously witty friends, the small but consistent upwards swing of my career.  But there’s something else that comes to mind, another idea that attracts my gratitude during this time in my life.

Hope.

It’s a powerful belief that we all clench tightly in the palm of our hand, rubbing it like a lucky stone.  A belief that we don’t always bring out, in fear of disappointment.  A belief that some people disregard altogether, while still others live by faithfully.

In the past six months, I’ve come to realize how enormously my daily life depends on hope.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean hope in the sense of “Oh gee, I hope I win the lottery so I can finally pay off my credit card bills, and while I wait for my number to hit, I’ll do some online shopping” (dear Lord, how I do love online shopping, though).  Instead, I mean the somewhat magical, optimistic shine of hope that good things are to come.  In this sense, perhaps I even mean faith.  Hope for a beautiful future, and faith that it will occur.

Were it not for hope, for the daydreaming of potential career and life paths, I’m not sure I would make it through the day.  But when I feel downtrodden, or furious, or overwhelmed, there is a string of hope that plays in my soul, reminding me that things will get better.

In the past few months, my life has undergone several changes.  And these (quite wonderful) changes were brought forth from hopes that I had tucked away in my palm for some time. These hopes came out of my mind, and become true.

So on this Thanksgiving, I stop to give thanks for hope.  For that little lucky stone that I rub daily for good luck, for the dreams of potential, for the faith that bliss will occur.

May you all have a blessed and wonderful holiday, full of thanks, food and drink.  Happy Thanksgiving!

 

hopefully yours,

court

 

 

2 Responses to “A Thanksgiving Thanks.”

  1. Emily Says:

    you have such an ability to pull the perfect words out of my heart and describe what i think a feel on such a steady basis. court, i am so thankful for you and for that.

  2. Courtney Says:

    well, my dear friend, i am thankful for you and your wonderful words. thank you so much! 🙂


Leave a comment