ThanksThanksThanks

My mother taught me to always write thank you notes. So here we go: daily thanks for the big & small things in life.

An Overwhelming Thanks November 16, 2010

Filed under: Miscellaneous Thanks — Courtney @ 10:12 pm
Tags: ,

Dear Readers:

 

At this moment, life is very overwhelming.  From loved ones coming down with illnesses to fast-approaching deadlines to never-ending piles of work, it feels like everything is hitting me hard right now.  In the midst of this madness, I stopped tonight and thought, “What on earth could I be thankful for at this moment?  While I am so incredibly stressed, so nervous – to what could I give thanks?”

 

How about the fact that I can be overwhelmed with all of these things?  Aside from the news of illness, all of the overwhelming factors today have been from work, deadlines that I have imposed, and doing work for opportunities that would further my career and life.  What I’m saying is:  All of these factors are reasons for which to be thankful.

 

I have a job, a secure one at that, and while it can be stressful (especially now, minus a co-worker), at least I am able to earn a living.

 

The deadlines that I put on myself – they are all my doing.  The opportunities that I take on to better my career and life, the opportunities that make me stay up late into the night to finish them, those are ones that I take on because I am able to.  I am able to say, “Yes, I want to further my mind, my career, my life.  Let me see what I can do to achieve those goals.”  I should feel blessed that I have the ability to do such things!

 

I’m not sure if this post totally makes sense – I’m a bit fatigued at the moment – but in essence, I’m saying this – be thankful for the stresses.  Because more likely than not, the stresses we have are other people’s dreams.

 

So tonight, count your stresses, not your blessings, as you go to sleep.  And perhaps you will realize that the two are linked more than you know.

 

striving for a meditative state,

court

 

 

Leave a comment